Recent Posts

Gluten Free

Why Not Go Gluten Free?

Avoiding Gluten Products

Have you thought about going gluten-free? Going completely gluten-free is a very challenging diet to obtain. Avoiding gluten products is more than giving up traditional meals containing bread, cereals, pastas, pizza, and beer. Other food products on the shelves, including frozen vegetables and fruits are containing additives and hidden preservatives. These hidden substances are listed as “corn syrup”, “natural flavorings”. These contents can also be found listed in the ingredients of sauces, soy products, spices and even some medications. If your choosing to go gluten-free it is very important to understand that you may set yourself up for nutritional deficiencies because most products made containing gluten in the US are fortified with sources of vitamin B. Three million of the world’s population are being affected by gluten disease or gluten intolerance.

Celiac Disease affecting 20-30% of The Worlds Population

The disease celiac disease is affecting 20-30 percent of the world’s population. When people with celiac disease ingest gluten the protein found in (wheat or barley), their body mounts an immune response that attacks the small intestine. These attacks lead to damage on the villi, small finger like projections that line the small intestine, that promote nutrient absorption. When the villi get damaged, nutrients cannot be absorbed properly into the body. The only treatment currently for celiac disease is a strict, gluten-free diet. Most patients report symptom improvement of digestion within a few weeks, although intestinal healing may take several years.

Removing Gluten From Your Diet

Start out by removing foods containing gluten with these proteins found in wheat like grains and other related spices. Some other grains and foods that you should avoid are any food containing wheat, barley, or rye. Wheat has many forms, so it is important to read labels. Any of these other forms of grains need to be avoided including bulgur, durum, graham, kamut, spelt, and semolina.

Alternative Grains & Plant Based Sources

You can find alternative grains that are grain like that come from plants. Corn in all forms (corn flour, corn meal, grits). Rice in all forms (white, brown, wild, basmati). Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, (kasha), cassava, flax, millet, quinoa, sorghum, soy, tapioca, and teff. You can find flours made of gluten-free grain, raw nuts, beans and coconut. To ensure your staying clear of gluten products find labels indicating gluten-free to avoid cross contamination.



Not Healthcare Advice
Jaclyn Creations LLC is not liable for any information provided regarding recommendations regarding supplements for any health purposes. The expressions or statements made in this book about specific nutrients or products have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The information is not intended to replace medical advice offered by physicians. Consult with a healthcare professional before starting a diet, supplement, or exercise program. Jaclyn Creations LLC will not be liable for any indirect, consequential, special, exemplary, or other damages arising therefrom

Healthy Living,

Jaclyn Rae

Thank you for reading our blog, you can thank us by buying us a smoothie!

If you find our blog useful, kindly share it with your friends.